Voicesofyouth

Public Transport

Posted on: December 29, 2010

By Tanya W.

The transport system in our country is rubbish I think we most have one of the worse systems. Unfortunately I have to rely on this system to get to meetings or events.

It is so annoying because the government has made it so expensive to run a car which I also do tax is crazy price and insurance is unreal and that’s without taking
into account buying the car the petrol which is a crazy price and just seems to be getting worse. And now they want to make it even harder to get a licence.

Like I believe instead of putting money into putting an improved driving system in
place that they should put money into improving our transport system as this is more environmental friendly. The argument that is being put forward is that these new measures will ensure we have safer drivers on the road ok that’s grand but what about the drivers already on the road I think it will make as much of a difference as they hope as the older drivers have bad habits which were once accepted.

The problem is if you live in a county like mine where public transport is none existent and getting within the county itself is impossible unless you have a car which isn’t that many of either 1 in 7 households in my county don’t have access to a car. I believe this figure is so high due to how expensive it is to run a car and the constant increase in changes being made to getting a licence.

If you don’t live in a city you have to be able to drive or have a friend drive you around or you are just not able to go anywhere. This was shown when one of my committees meet in the town of Roscommon and majority of the people on the committee had never been in the town before yet they were all from Roscommon County.  This is mad and it the young people that suffer the most but also the old are really effected by the lack of public transport.

Yet if you live near a big city you also have problems with public transport but he
problems are different in that if you live near a city you have to go into the city to go anywhere even though it would be quicker just to go to that place this I seen myself the other day when I was visiting a friend in Kildare and I had to take train to Dublin go through Kildare to then get another train back from Dublin to Kildare. It crazy that this seems to make sense to someone. It waste so much time I had been told about this from friends but I hadn’t experience this till the other day and now I understand there frustration.

 

I think the government need to really improve the public transport systems in Ireland as they are really out of date and not convenient at all. Instead of pumping billions into a sinking ship which was the banks they should have been pumping it into something that is actually needed and will last.

Leave a comment

Pages